Custom Search
Top Stories
Go to Site Index See "Top Stories" main page
REPORTING · 1st July 2015
Walter McFarlane
Saturday, June 28th was a gorgeous day in Kitimat. Haisla Hill was closed to traffic for the 7th Annual Dave Saunders Memorial Hill Climb. Residents of Kitimat flocked to the recently cut grass on Haisla to watch the races.

“Today we are doing the 7th Annual Dave Saunders Memorial Hill Climb,” said Sharole Bell. “We have 41 cars registered this year which is a great turn out.”

Competitors were racing in one of four brackets, Superpro, Pro, Bikes and Sleds and Juniors. There were racers from Terrace and as far away as Alberta.

Drivers were racing against themselves and races were won based on consistency. The Drivers had to match the time which they scored in their time trials and had to match it better than the other driver to advance.

There was not much time to get things organized, but this year’s races were still a success. “We got notice a week and a half ago that we were ok to do the hill,” said Bell. She said the key five people and a lot of volunteers who poured out to help out make the day a success.

Bell thanked all the people who helped out, especially the TDRA who came out to work the lights for them. The winners are printed below.

King of the Hill
Karri Nelson

Bracket A
1st Arron Baverstock
2nd Cody Thom
3rd Dwayne Adams

Bracket B
1st Karri Nelson
2nd Rick Moon
3rd Ed Hall

1st Ian Berrisford
2nd Sam Henderson
3rd Kevin Enmark

Jr. Dragster
1st Delaney Ribeiro
2nd Shelby Peterson
3rd Quinn Amado