Custom Search
Top Stories
Go to Site Index See "Top Stories" main page
REPORTING · 13th December 2014
Walter McFarlane
With the new Council sworn into office, there was a little bit of housekeeping which needed to be done at a Special Meeting of Council on Monday, December 8th. There are various committees which the members of Council sit on in the community.

The Most notable was the Regional District, where Council would vote for the member of Kitimat’s Mayor and Council whom they felt would best represent them and an alternate.

Mayor Phil Germuth was the first to be nominated for director. He was nominated by Councillor Clair Rattee. Councillor Mary Murphy was also nominated by she declined.

“I want to allow Mayor Germuth to finish off the work that he was doing previously,” said Murphy.

With no further nominated, Mayor Germuth was declared director.

For the Alternate, Councillor Mary Murphy was nominated by Councillor Mario Feldhoff. Councillor Rob Goffinet was also nominated but chose to decline, thanking his nominator.

For the other committees and groups, each Councillor put in a wish list and Mayor Phil Germuth appointed the Councillors to the committees.

Notable committees include the Advisory Planning Commission, where Councillor Rob Goffinet was assigned, the Leisure Services Committee went to Councillor Mary Murphy, Councillor Clair Rattee was appointed to the Advisory Commission for Person’s with Disabilities, Larry Walker to the Traffic Committee and the Advisory Housing Committee got Councillor Edwin Empinado.

Empinado was appointed to the Library Board and Councillor Mario Feldhoff was appointed to the Museum Board.

In addition, alternates were assigned to all of these groups. Councillors were also appointed to various other groups within the community.