Custom Search
Top Stories
Go to Site Index See "Top Stories" main page
REPORTING · 3rd December 2014
Walter McFarlane
On November 15th, Kitimat voted. On December 1st, the new Council was sworn into office taking an oath and signing it. CAO Ron Poole oversaw the proceedings. They were joined by two RCMP Officers in Red Surge.

Each of the elected members of Mayor and Council swore they were qualified to hold the office. They did not contravene the local government act during the election and will faithfully perform the duties of the office without being influenced by private influence. In addition they will disclose direct or indirect pecuniary interest and will not discuss or vote in those matters.

Mayor Phil Germuth went first followed by Councillor Edwin Empinado, Councillor Mario Feldhoff, Councillor Rob Goffinet, Councillor Mary Murphy, Councillor Clair Rattee and Councillor Larry Walker.

The Council Chambers were packed with supporters who applauded the Kitimat Mayor and Council who will sit from 2014 – 2018.