Custom Search
Top Stories
Go to Site Index See "Top Stories" main page
REPORTING · 4th July 2014
Walter McFarlane
The 6th Annual Dave Saunders Memorial Hill Climb took place on Saturday and Sunday, June 28th and 29th respectively. The first day was rained out during the races so the drivers returned on Sunday.

ďItís basically drag racing. Itís basically bracket racing. Itís not whoís the fastest up the hill, itís all timed racing. You go up the hill, say in 10 seconds, you try to run your number all the time,Ē said Harley Bell.

The races this year were A Class, B Class, Bike and Snowmobile and the Jr. Dragsters. About 55 racers came out to race. Prizes were $300 for 1st, $200 for 2nd, $100 for 3rd in all classes. Hitting a perfect set of lights was $100.

The Hill Climb started in the 70s when it was a quarter mile from the bottom of the hill. However, cars were getting to fast in the 80s so it was knocked down to 1/8th of a mile. Cars have become faster still so it has been cut down again to 500 feet.

Bell gave special thanks to all of the sponsors.


A class:
1 Arron Baverstock
2 Harley Bell
3 Pierre Amado

B class:
1 Randy Sarell
2 Doug Ribeiro
3 Karri Nelson

1 James Gaidner
2 Peter Walsh
3 Robin Aurther

Jr s:
1 Delaney Ribeiro
2 Lou Ribeiro
3 Quinn Amado

King of the hill
James Gairdner