Custom Search
Top Stories
Go to Site Index See "Top Stories" main page
REPORTING · 15th April 2013
Walter McFarlane
The 9th Annual Cultural Warming Basketball tournament took place over the weekend of April 5th, 6th and 7th, sponsored by the Haisla Nation Council and the District of Kitimat.

“12 mens teams and 8 ladies teams started battling it out on Friday night at the MESS High School and the [Haisla] Rec Centre,” said Brent Robinson, Co-Chair from the Haisla Nation.

The furthest entry playing for the men came from Vancouver while the Ladies Division hosted the Vanderhoof Queens and a team from Skidigate.

The Haisla Senior Women took on the Prince Rupert Thunder in an amazing final game. At the beginning of the 4th period, the Haisla women trailed by ten points. However, they managed to squeak ahead to a final score of 56-55, the basket putting them in lead receiving thunderous applause.

The men’s finals came down to Van City Untouchables taking on Prince Rupert Lights Out. The game remained close but Vancouver came out on top 82 – 78.

The winner of the Cultural Spirit Award was Adelia Paul. “[she won it for making the Douglas College basketball team this year, blazing the trail for her team mates and the Haisla Jr. Girls and overcoming obstacles to go to College,” said Martin Gould, the Head of Kitimat Leisure Services.

Next year marks the 10th year for the tournament. While they cannot get any bigger, Robinson stated they will come up with something to commemorate it.

He thanked all the sponsors for their support.

Ladies Tournament results:

1st: Haisla Senior Women
2nd: Prince Rupert Thunder
3rd: Greenville Aces
4th: Canyon Jr. Wildcats
5th / 6th: Vanderhoof Queens / MIT Rusties

Ladies All Stars: Denise Wilson Rupert Thunder / Jennifer Nyce Haisla Sr Women / Neely Humperville Rupert Thunder / Mariah Tait Greenville Aces / Kylie Nisyok Canyon Jr Wildcats
Ladies MVP: Kailee Gardiner

Men’s Tournament Results:

1st: Van City Untouchables
2nd: Rupert Lights Out
3rd: Terrace Jags
4th: Terrace Waks
5th / 6th: Haisla Braves / Gitsan Seniors
7th / 8th: Haisla Orca Sprits / Haisla Jr. Boys

Men's All Star: Shaun Holland Van City Untouchables / Desi Collinson Rupert Lights Out / Daniel Metz Haisla Braves / Tyler Moore Terrace Waks / Sean Doosedale Terrace Jags
Men's MVP: Bol Kong