Custom Search
Top Stories
Go to Site Index See "Top Stories" main page
REPORTING · 15th October 2010
Walter McFarlane
UPDATED October 15th
6 Candidates

Election season is on and there are plenty of rumours. For the moment the following candidates have filed their nomination papers.

The First Candidate is:
Linda Campbell

The Second Candidate is
Mary Murphy

The Third Candidate is
Debbie Rauhanen

The Fourth Candidate is
Edwin Empinado

The Fifth Candidate is
Michelle deLisser

The Sixth Candidate is
Corinne Scott

In August, Councillor Richard McLaren stepped down as a Councillor due to a serious health diagnosis. Today, Tuesday, October 5th, nominations began at City Hall and they will be accepted until 4 pm on Friday, October 15th.

To run in the election, a candidate must meet the qualifications, which are a Canadian Citizen, 18 years or older, a resident of BC for at least 6 months before the day their papers are filed and not disqualified by the local government act.

The candidate for Councillor must find two nominees and fill out the appropriate nomination paperwork. Once completed they must be taken to Chief Electoral Officer Walter McLellen or Deputy Chief Electoral Officer Shirly Boudreault at City Hall prior to the cut off, 4 pm, October 15th.

Nomination packages are available at City Hall and there is still plenty of time to pick one up although the election officers are encouraging people not to wait until the last minute.

For more information, contact the election officers, McLellen and Boudreault at 632-8900.

The election is scheduled for November 20th. Good luck to all who choose to run.

The Kitimat Daily will be posting information as we receive it.