Custom Search
Top Stories
Go to Site Index See "Top Stories" main page
Rick Jones presented the Jacob Jones Memorial award to Ashely Schmidt and the Stephanie Donnelly Memorial Scholarship to Sarah Allen
REPORTING · 11th July 2010
Walter McFarlane
Mount Elizabeth Secondary School held their awards night on Tuesday, June 15th at the Mount Elizabeth Theatre. There were 59 awards and a total of $27000 was distributed to 39 recipients.

Brenda Feldhoff, the Theatre Manager took to the stage and explained how people in the community could sponsor a seat in the theatre. She then named several people who ahd been honoured this year: Sheila McInnis who moved from the High School to Kitimat City High this year. Three grads, Jenny Dare, Christian Sorenson and Justine Feldhoff.

Several seats were sponsored in memory of people in the community who have passed away. Jonah Sorenson has one part of the J row, while the middle J row has 5 seats dedicated in the name of Jacob Jones donated by the cast of Musical Theatre and the final seat was dedicated to Henry Bouchard.

McGuiness welcomed everyone to the evening. “Formal education and training beyond the high school level is not something that would be nice to have but is something of a necessity for today’s youth. We are grateful that our community recognizes the significance of supporting students in pursuit of higher education to support many of the recipients tonight would not have this opportunity,” said McGuiness.

She explained how students were selected and the night began. She thanked the people who presented the scholarships and let them know how much these mean to the students.

Rio Tinto Alcan presented several scholarships to students. Ian Forbes, Sarah Allan and Justine Feldhoff were presented scholarships by Tino Pereira. Pereira also gave a Technology Scholarship to Matthew Levesque, an Anniversary Scholarship to Jatinder Gill and a Bursary to Candace Grant.

Mayor Joanne Monaghan passed out four District of Kitimat Scholarships to Kieran Thaites, Aila Skitcko, Alexandra Rennhack and Jennifer Bare. McGuiness also presented scholarships on behalf of the Kitimat Scholarship Association to Karoline Kant, Meagen Grossmann, Gregory Taylor, Kollin Alderman, Michelle Perfitt, Gill and Nicole De Goeij

The most memorable event of the evening though was the presentation of the Jacob Jones Memorial Scholarship which was presented by Rick Jones to Ashley Schmidt which was given a standing ovation. Rick Jones also presented the Stephanie Donnelly Memorial Scholarship to Sarah Allen on behalf of the Donnelly Family.

The night ended with a final thank you to the donors and presenters and words of advice for the recipients.
Tino Pereira and the recipients of the Alcan Scholarships (see above article)
Tino Pereira and the recipients of the Alcan Scholarships (see above article)