Custom Search
Top Stories
Go to Site Index See "Top Stories" main page
REPORTING · 11th May 2010
Merv Ritchie
At 10:45 am this morning, Tuesday, May 11, the Nisga'a Nation will begin the celebration ceremonies for the ten year anniversary of the Nisga'a Treaty with a performance by the Nisga'a Mass Band.

The itinerary is as follows;

11:15 Blessing and light lunch

12:00 Opening Ceremonies
- Prayer and moment of silence
- O Canada in Nisga'a
- Welcoming remarks

1:00 pm Declaration by Oscar Mercer, Chair - Counicl of Elders

1:10 Honourable Steven Point address

1:20 Official Introductions
- President Nisga'a Nation Mitchell Stevens
- Sr. Asst. Deputy Minister INAC, Michel Roy
- BC Minister Aboriginal Relations, George Abbott
- BC Treaty Chief Commissioner, Sophie Pierre

2:00 Nisga'a Cultural Dance Performance

- National Chief Assembly of First Nations, Shawn A-In-Chut Atleo
- Vice Chief BC Assembly of First Nations, Jody Wilson-Raybould
- Nisga'a Youth Representatives, Maverick Moore and Ashinna Rai

3:00 Presentation by Richard Leeson in Honour of the late Nelson Leeson

3:30 - Procession to Recreation Center for Celebration Feast

The Feast will continue until 6:00 pm and will be followed by an evening of Cultural Dance.

We will be live streaming the celebratory event.

Watch along by clicking HERE.