Custom Search
Top Stories
Go to Site Index See "Top Stories" main page
REPORTING · 8th December 2009
Merv Ritchie
The elected board of the Regional District Kitimat Stikine (RDKS) has an unusual makeup and structure when compared to other legislative bodies in Canada. Some of the twelve members of this political organization are elected directly to the body while others are appointed from municipalities within the Regional District. Those members elected directly to the board table represent the various areas which are not covered by another type of municipal governments such as the District of Stewart, Village of Hazelton and City of Terrace. These ‘Area’ representatives, elected for a three year term, are labeled as as Area’s ‘A’ to ‘F’ and make up half of the 12 directors. The other 6 are appointed to the board table by their respective municipal Councils.

When Municipal Councils first meet after a municipal election, those who were successful in being elected nominate and vote for who they wish to represent the municipality at the RDKS board table. This position is generally reviewed at the end of a one year term and the Municipal Councils have the opportunity to change the member they have at the board table. Although it is unusual to witness a change in the municipal representation during the short three year term, it does happen and this year it happened for both Terrace and Kitimat. Stewart has also had a change in representation however this was due to the sudden and shocking passing of Stewart Councillor David Ryder this past summer.

Only Terrace has two representatives at the board table as all other municipalities; Village of Hazelton, New Hazelton, Kitimat and Stewart, have one each. This representation is determined by the population of the communities. Kitimat previously had two representatives however due to the decline in population their representation dropped by one in 2007. Since November 2008 Terrace had Councillor Carol Leclerc and Councillor Lynne Christiansen representing the interests of Terrace. At the November 23 Terrace Council meeting, Councillor Christiansen was replaced by Brad Pollard and last night, December 7, at a meeting of the Kitimat Council, Councillor Gerd Gottschling was replaced by Councillor Bob Corless. Alternates are Councillors who take the place of the Municipal representative at the board table when the appointed Councillor is unavailable to attend. The alternates are also selected by each Municipal Council. In Terrace the alternates selected were Councillor Brian Downie for Pollard and Councillor Bruce Martindale for Leclerc. In Kitimat, Mayor Monahan was selected as the alternate for Corless.

The full RDKS Board makeup as of today is: Chairperson Harry Nyce (Area A), Melanie Sondergaard (Area B), Allan Lancot (Area C), Dave Brocklebank (Area D), Darcis Frocklage (Area F), Alice Maitland (Village of Hazelton), Peter Weeber (District of New Hazelton), Angela Brand Danuser (District of Stewart), Bob Corless (District of Kitimat), Carol Leclerc (City of Terrace) and Brad Pollard (City of Terrace).